Brahms in Zutphen and Concertgebouw de Vereeniging Nijmegen

I am very much looking forward to playing Brahms’ second piano concerto with the Symphony Orchestra of Nijmegen on Nov. 5 and Nov. 9, 2022, respectively. 

Program fall concert: 

Or via this website: Agenda

Unlike concertos of the classical and romantic periods with three movements, Brahms decided to compose four movements:

  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Allegro appassionato
  3. Andante
  4. Allegretto grazioso

The orchestra begins, quite unusually for the time, with a dialogue between the horn solo and the piano, and the third movement begins with a beautiful cello solo accompanied by the orchestra. 

The two fall concerts are themed TWO GIGANTS and are conducted by Frans-Aert Burghgraef.

Musical giants, that’s what Brahms and Shostakovich can be called. After all, both are phenomenal composers and brilliant pianists at the same time.
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) was himself the piano soloist at the premiere of his second piano concerto in Budapest. Besides the piano part, notable are the beautiful solos for horn and for cello.

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975) impressively conveys despair and anger, but also hope, in his tenth symphony. A grand work that requires an extensive orchestra.

Over the years, the Symfonieorkest Nijmegen has grown into one of the larger amateur orchestras in the Netherlands, allowing it to perform major symphonies such as those of Shostakovich.

Posted in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.